Online Concealed Handgun Permit Application (Online)

*All information was obtained from the Wise County Clerk of Circuit Court's website*

 

Concealed Handgun Permit Requirements: must meet ALL requirements

 

To apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit at the Wise County Clerk of Circuit Court, the applicant must:

  • be a citizen or a naturalized citizen;

  • be twenty-one (21) years of age;

  • be a resident of Wise County or the City of Norton;

  • obtain a document that demonstrates your competence with a handgun (Initial Permits Only).

The following are examples of acceptable proof of training:

  • Completing any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries or a similar agency of another state;

  • Completing any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course;

  • Completing any firearms safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by a law-enforcement agency, junior college, college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Department of Criminal Justice Services;

  • Completing any law-enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement;

  • Obtaining or previously having held a license to carry a firearm in the Commonwealth or a locality thereof, unless such license has been revoked for cause;

  • Presenting evidence of current military service or proof of an honorable discharge from any branch of the armed services;

  • Completing any firearms training or safety course or class, including an electronic, video, or online course, conducted by a state-certified or National Rifle Association-certified firearms instructor.

Where can I find more information? Please reference the Virginia State Police website for more FAQs and for an up-to-date list of states that offer agreements and/or reciprocity for Virginia Permits.

Pricing

  • A New Concealed Handgun Permit costs $50.00 for RESIDENTS.

  • A Renewal Concealed Handgun Permit costs $50.00 for RESIDENTS.

  • A Replacement Concealed Handgun Permit costs $5.00.

  • Applications will be processed between 8:30 am-4:00 pm Monday-Friday.

  • Click on the NEW, RENEW or REPLACEMENT application link to start the application.

CLICK HERE TO START YOUR APPLICATION

For More Information, Contact:      

Wise County Clerk of Circuit Court
206 East Main St
PO Box 1248
Wise, VA 24293

Phone: (276) 328-6111

WISE COUNTY

SHERIFF'S OFFICE

ACCREDITED SINCE 2002

Follow us on social media

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • mzl.oghfhvqw

© 2020 Wise County Sheriff's Office.  All Rights Reserved

REPORT A CRIME

Created by the Wise County VA. Sheriff's Office